RX, Scala

Apache Kafka 0.9 Scala Producer/Consumer

For my job at the moment, I am roughly spending 50% of my time working on .NET and the other 50% of the time working with Scala. As such a lot of Scala/JVM toys have spiked my interest of late. My latest quest was to try and learn Apache Kafka, well enough that I at least understood the core concepts. I have even read a book or two on Apache Kafka, now, so feel I am at least talking partial sense in this article.

So what is Apache Kafka, exactly?

Here is what the Apache Kafka folks have to say about their own tool.

Apache Kafka is publish-subscribe messaging rethought as a distributed commit log.
Fast
A single Kafka broker can handle hundreds of megabytes of reads and writes per second from thousands of clients.

Scalable
Kafka is designed to allow a single cluster to serve as the central data backbone for a large organization. It can be elastically and transparently expanded without downtime. Data streams are partitioned and spread over a cluster of machines to allow data streams larger than the capability of any single machine and to allow clusters of co-ordinated consumers

Durable
Messages are persisted on disk and replicated within the cluster to prevent data loss. Each broker can handle terabytes of messages without performance impact.

Distributed by Design
Kafka has a modern cluster-centric design that offers strong durability and fault-tolerance guarantees.

Taken from http://kafka.apache.org/ up on date 11/03/16

Apache Kafka was designed and built by a team of engineers at LinkedIn, where I am sure you will agree they probably had to deal with quite a bit of data.

 

I decided to learn a bit more about all this and have written an article on this over at code project :

 

http://www.codeproject.com/Articles/1085758/Apache-Kafka-Scala-Producer-Consumer-With-Some-RxS

 

In this article I will talk you through some of the core Apache Kafka concepts, and will also show how to create a Scala Apache Kafka Producer and a Scala Apache Kafka Consumer. I will also sprinkle some RxScala pixie dust on top of the Apache Kafka Consumer code such that the RX operators to be applied to the incoming Apache Kafka messages.

2 thoughts on “Apache Kafka 0.9 Scala Producer/Consumer

    1. Josh thanks for sharing those links, much appreciated. I have seen the Kafka manager, but the reactive library is a new one to me.

Leave a comment