.NET -> Scala Interop Using RabbitMQ

I have taken on a new job and we are using a lot of .NET, but we are also using lots of Scala. My work colleague and I were talking about how to get different Actor frameworks (well Akka in Java and Akka.NET in .NET) to talk to each other. This does not seem possible right now, as the exact wire protocol would need to be decided and implemented.

So we thought ok how about you stick to using your actor framework of choice and we would send messages from .NET to Scala via some sort of messaging solution, where we would send messages as JSON.

So I decided to take a stab at that. I have used a few messaging solutions in my time, I decided to go for RabbitMQ as that is something I know and like (still need to learn Kafka, one day Kafka one day).

If this sounds like it could be of interest to you, I wrote this up here:

http://www.codeproject.com/Articles/1037532/NET-Scala-Interop-Using-RabbitMQ

 

Leave a Reply

