Cinch (Again)

As my last post on Cinch indicated I fixed a lot of stuff in the latest drop, there 1 or 2 areas where I forgot to fix things (though the code still works, but could have been improved, so I improved it).

I then had major headaches with SVN/Codeplex source code getting corrupted whilst I was trying to update codeplex, so I struggled with that for a long time on Saturday 08/05/2010.

So if you downloaded Cinch again, I would urge you to please download and use the latest drop where the codeplex realease tab states “All Fixed”.

As the comment indicates this has all fixes and is correct source control (SVN) wise.

I am now working on Cinch V2 which I think it going to be a much better API to work with.

Enjoy Cinch V1 for now, Ill keep you all post Re: Cinch V2.

There will also be a new demo app for Cinch V2 for both WPF and SL.

3 thoughts on “Cinch (Again)

  1. Lisa Tatum says:

    Hello Sacha,

    I do not use your framework as I need only some parts for my program. BUT I strongly study your code how you handle MVVM 🙂

    What made me thinking twice is why do you use a static class for Data access ?

    Why do you not use … ServiceFactory.GetService()… as example, because you do the same for Window Services too.

    No critics you surely do it cool, I just want to learn 😉

    cheers,

    Lisa

    (like your wpf articles…)

    • sacha says:

      Lisa I am not sure I know what your question is. What do you mean by “What made me thinking twice is why do you use a static class for Data access ?” and this too “Why do you not use … ServiceFactory.GetService()… as example, because you do the same for Window Services too.”

      I just don’t know what you are asking.

      At any rate I am not doing any more work on Cinch V1, as I am nearly finished CinchV2 which I think is a much better framework.

  2. Lisa Tatum says:

    Hello Sacha,

    of course I am delighted to see your Cinch v2 and the demo application. I like to study its code…

    I am still a wpf/mvvm beginner and I think learning from the big ones is good 🙂 but sometimes the big ones code can cause a headache to me.

    Btw. your blog engine swallowed some code chars I entered maybe therefore you do not get my question 😉

    My question is this and has actually nothing to do with Chinch itself just with your coding style/approach.

    Why do you use a static DataService class in Chinch v1 and not a real Service by Unity as you did with the IMessageBoxService ?

    I hope the question is now more clear. You can also answer me via email which is attached, just want to learn from you 🙂

Leave a Reply

