Embedding PicLens In Your Own Apps

I have always been amazed at just how cool the CoolIris PicLens browser addin is. Its really really cool, top drawer in fact. The other day I was wondering if there would be an API or way that I could use this in my own app, after all I could host something in my own HTML page within a WebBrowser control, which itself is hosted inside my own WPF/WinForms app.

As luck would have it there is a JavaScript API which one can use. So I looked into this and came up with a small demo app which shows you how to embed the CoolIris PicLens browser addin  in your own apps.

I wrote a full article about this over at this url :

http://www.codeproject.com/KB/WPF/emdedPL.aspx

And here is a small screen shot of the demo application that I built running (this is WPF, but the article could easily be applied to WinForms).

finished[1]

In the article I talk through the following things

  • Flash interaction
  • FlashVars
  • SwiftObject creation
  • RSS Media
  • Browser Manipulation (shows how to call JavaScrtipt from WPF C# code)
  • the msHtml namespace and it’s capabilities
  • Mark Of The Web

 

It is a very small article, but I think it is quite a compelling one, just because PicLens is so awesome.

Enjoy

One thought on “Embedding PicLens In Your Own Apps

  1. Ghasem says:

    Nice One Sacha

Leave a Reply

