Silverlight : MVVM Library and File Upload

Well its now a couple of days after XMAS here, so it’s back to work for us. Now for those that know me, I normally write about WPF and related technologies. I like WPF, but it has been a while since I played with its smaller brother Silverlight. I think the last time I played with Silverlight was way back in 2007, where I wrote this article (good in its day I suppose):

SLFun.aspx

So I thought it was about time that I had a look at why Silverlight was getting so much Microsoft press and community attention lately, the futures Silverlight and all that. I say the future is doing cool work, and that is whatever technology that happens to be. But whatever.

This article was started off as a small part of a larger SL4 application that I am making to understand and play with RIA Services, but it kinda of morphed a bit, and has now taken on a life all of its own. Well actually it is kind of 2 sentient beings now :

Sentient Being 1 : A mini Silverlight class library that aids in MVVM development

The mini Silverlight library that came out of this investigation boasts the following features :

  • Commanding
  • Messaging
  • Services
  • Threading Helpers

Sentient Being 2 : What I was supposed to be doing all along, which was playing with the new SL4 bits. To do this I have created a SL4 uploader that can upload a file to a folder on the webserver, and will optionally show a SL3/4 ChildWindow of the uploaded file if it is an image file.

This is what it looks like after it has uploaded and image file

I hope that this demo application and the Silverlight MVVM library contained with it are useful to many of you.

Here is a link to the article:

http://www.codeproject.com/KB/silverlight/SL4FileUploadAnd_SL4_MVVM.aspx

Enjoy

5 thoughts on “Silverlight : MVVM Library and File Upload

  1. […] Silverlight : MVVM Library and File Upload (Sacha Barber) […]

  2. […] Silverlight : MVVM Library and File Upload (Sacha Barber) […]

  3. Naveed Anjum says:

    Hello sacha! Hopefully you are fine and enjoying your life.
    I know this is not the right place to share my problem but i don’t find any other suitable place to post it. Well it is related to silverlight.

    Here is my problem!

    I get the following error message when trying to install Sylverlight Tools for Visual Studio 2008.

    Installation Requirements:

    Build 9.0.30729.XX of Visual Studio 2008 SP1 or Visual Web Developer 2008 SP1 must be installed before installation can continue. See http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkID=122094 for download information.

    However I’ve Visual Studio 2008 SP1 and installed on my machine. That is 100% sure and i have checked it multiple times.

    Here is Vs information:

    Microsoft Visual Studio 2008
    Version 9.0.30729.1 SP
    Microsoft .NET Framework
    Version 3.5 SP1

    Installed Edition: Professional

    I have searched the solution a lot on google and no body solve my problem. I am really worried and afraid that it is so common problem but microsoft doesn’t provide its solution.

    Now i request you again that please provide me the solution of my problem. Thank you very much in advance..
    God bless you.

  4. frosty says:

    Hello Sascha,

    Instead of digging up your email I thought I would post. Again, your cinch framework has been most valuable. I’ve integrated it with Prism and it’s turning out pretty well.

    Speaking with a couple of others, there’s not a really good central place to go talk prism, find info, get questions answered etc. So I broke down and purchased a piece of community software and I’m working on coming up with a website. The community to post articles, real world samples and a forum broken up to hopefully create a central place for persons to go communicate.

    I would love any input you have and if you care to be involved with it, email me and I’ll look at adding you at any capacity you care to participate.

    Again, thanks for Cinch, worse case I plan on creating an MVVM Framework section and linking to your site and the code at code project.

    Thanks

  5. Issue you may be referring to designed . However, picture this, let’s say you integrated a bit stuff? I am discussing, I dont want to train the way in which to run your website, but if you essentially additional added subject material which can comfortably grab people’s consciousness? Just merely as being a video clip clip or even a picture or even 2 to acquire viewers excited about what you pointed out.

Leave a Reply

