WPF : Tube Planner Using A Guided Search

I recently came back from holiday and decided I needed to ease myself back into work gradually.

For those that don’t know I studied AI as part of my degree and we had to do a search of a cut down version of the London underground for one of our many assignments. At the time I thought my text only search was the mutts nuts, but now we have WPF so I thought why not give it another go.

I have to say I am most pleased with the result.

It is over at www.codeproject.com if you fancy a look. Here is a link

http://www.codeproject.com/KB/WPF/TubePlanner.aspx

 

And here is what it does:

  • Panning
  • Zooming
  • Station connection tooltips
  • Hiding unwanted lines (to de-clutter the diagram)
  • Information bubble
  • Diagramatic solution path visualization
  • Textual solution path description

Here is what it looks like:

As always if you fancy leaving a comment or a vote that would be cool, thanks.

6 thoughts on “WPF : Tube Planner Using A Guided Search

  1. Great stuff Sacha. Interesting problem domain, and slick interface. Well done.

    Cheers,
    Daniel

  2. sacha says:

    Thanks mate. Messing around with some Win7 stuff last night, cant help but feel MSFT missed a trick or too there with certains things like JumpList

  3. John Collins says:

    Have you ever considered doing a Code Project article for the new ESRI Silverlight/WPF Map control? There are a lot of examples for silverlight, but none for WPF (that I can find) and nothing utilizing the MVVM Framework.
    I know you have done some mapping stuff in the past as was just curious if you had looked into the new ESRI stuff. I think it would be increadibly useful to the community if someone as smart as you could put out a real world example of the WPF portion. It doesn’t get a lot of play in the blogs/code examples.

    Just curious if you had considered it.

    Thanks for you time.

    • sacha says:

      John

      Was actually blissfully unaware of that. Looks cool, looks highly geared towards Sl, which is not my bag, I prefer desktop stuff, very cool though. I am mid project though, so don’t know if I’ll find time for that.

      Thanks for the heads up though

  4. John Collins says:

    Yeah, alot of the examples are SL, but there are 2 distinct download packs. 1 for SL and 1 for WPF. Just hoping someone could shine a little light on the WPF side of things as the syntax between the 2 is a little different.

    I know you are busy, just curious. Thanks for the quick reply though!

Leave a Reply

