Sonic : Things Keep Getting Better And Better

A while ago now I published my last article on LINQ/WPF goodness, which was a fully searchable working media library written using some pretty cool stuff. This article scooped the highly prized www.codeproject.com best C# article for Feb 2009 and also best overall article, and to top that it has also won the 1st price for the February Smart Client App comp over at www.codeproject.com, which has some Microsoft funding, and judges. So I am pretty happy about that one.

There are some good articles in the Smart Client App comp, for example a very good one is Daniel Vaughan Perceptor, which uses a Neural Network to predict possible user navigation paths inside a WPF app. Nice. Daniel could/and always has in the past provided some very very thought provoking articles, I urge you all to read and encourage Daniels efforts. The kid knows what he is doing.

I think Daniel could actually win the Smart Client App comp overall, though I have to say "it aint over til the fat lady sings" and I just may have a few more smart client articles yet.

4 thoughts on “Sonic : Things Keep Getting Better And Better

  1. I wish you the warmest congratulations Sacha. Your Sonic article is breaking all the records!

    Thank you for your kind words.
    Your articles are an invaluable resource for the community, and you’re a top guy too!

    Now, back to writing my next article… 😉

  2. sacha says:

    Thanks Daniel

    Good luck with your next one. Someday we need to do one together.

  3. Asif Hamza says:

    Hi Sacha

    I enjoy your articles. They seem to be very well thought out. I’m currently teaching myself WPF and the MVVM pattern by following your article and others from the WPF Disciples.

    One issue I’ve been having with Sonic. I complied it, set up the database, changed the music location directory to c:music and added some mp3’s to that directory. When I run Sonic, however, it starts ups but does not show me my music.
    The only error I’m seeing is this line in the Output window.

    System.Windows.Data Error: 4 : Cannot find source for binding with reference ‘RelativeSource FindAncestor, AncestorType=’System.Windows.Controls.ComboBoxItem’, AncestorLevel=’1”. BindingExpression:Path=IsHighlighted; DataItem=null; target element is ‘ContentPresenter’ (Name=”); target property is ‘NoTarget’ (type ‘Object’)”

    Any ideas?

  4. sacha says:

    Thanks.

    And as far as that issue goes, no idea I am afraid. You could try and debug binding using TraceSources over at Bea Costas site is a nice example

Leave a Reply

