What I’m Up To

So It’s been a while since I wrote an article and published a blog, and there is all this new shiny tech (Aka Windows 8 / WinRT) to look at. Thing is I am actually in the guts of writing a web based tool that I have had on the back burner for a while now.

So that is what I am up to, it will be good I feel, just taking a long time. I think some atricles will fall out of that, as there are some things I have found very little information available for that I have had to figure out myself, which I think may make some nice articles.

I think I will get some time to look into Win8 and WinRT at some point, but until now I need to share a very important link with you all.

If you only have time to check out one link on the internet today, make sure its this one:

Here is the link : http://i.imgur.com/nuR4V.jpg

Actually someone just alerted me to another one, check this out too http://28.media.tumblr.com/tumblr_lr8cuabOcC1qzhnmco1_500.gif

9 thoughts on “What I’m Up To

  1. Quinton says:

    Hehe, been wondering why your site is so quiet. Good luck with the new web tool, I know what it’s like to have tools on the back burner, atleast you are working on them, most of us just keep them there indefinitely, lol.

    • sacha says:

      Yeah the tool is eating all my spare time. But I think it will be worth it. I may take some time out to look at new Win8 stuff, but I don’t see win8/WinRT improving my career that much, so that can wait I think

  2. Marco says:

    Windows 8 Metro, complete waste of time, forget it !
    MS have just bombed, light years behind Apple and Google.
    But what do I know? I only use to work there before jumping ship to Google a couple of years ago.

    Looking forward to your web tool.
    None of this over bloated WPF nonsense :-0
    I hope and pray your tool is not an extension of the MS stack of shoddy web technologies

    • sacha says:

      I am pretty much of the opinion that Win8 is not for me. I must be getting old as I just do not get, why on earth they have created a tablet type OS, which they are expecting people who use Windows for business apps to use. WTF. Do not get it at all. WinRT also looks very limited and the programming model seems very odd to me right now. I need to look more, but it’s not high on my list of things to do.

      As far as my tool, it is based on ASP .NET MVC, which I would have to disagree with you on that one, I think MS got that spot on, its brilliant stuff, is ASP MVC. ASP .NET was bad, but MVC is way cool

  3. Quinton says:

    Glad to see I’m not the only one with the limited opinion of win8.

    I have given it a try with the developer preview and did not enjoy the UI changes and am really not interested in developing UI’s based on the new approach. I was glad though when I found a registry setting that disables MEtro and brings back the desktop :P

    I agree with you Sacha, ASP.NET with MVC is brilliant and definitely the way to go for web dev.

  4. Marco says:

    With regards to ASP.NET.MVC
    The M and C are ok if you insist on the MS stack, but ditch the Razor V
    Razor, what on earth is that all about ? Haven’t you guys (in general that is) heard about JQuery / JSON ?

    Serialize your model via JSON from the Controller, de-serialize via a JQuery “helper” in the View, no need for Razor’s bloat.

    The new release of ASP.NET.MVC 4 is going backwards, MS just don’t get it, period

    • sacha says:

      I have used this approach in the past too, but I do think Razor gives you more than just a means of getting data, I find the view engine very nice to work with.

  5. Marco says:

    We (most web devs) consider Razor bloated when compared to Javascript. Not to sure that importing heavy weight .net assembles into the View is the correct way to go.

    Granted within VS2010 razor is easier to work with/debug. Having said that, where I work now we have Javascript utils developed that are very advanced and just as easy to work with.

    But I’m looking forward to your tool, any time scales ?

Leave a Reply

